Teacher Guides

Transitioning School Years

Below are some general recommendations and resources to help in transitioning from one year to another (over the summer or at other times). However, as schools and districts have different implementation models, there aren’t many one-size-fits-all rules for educators transitioning school years in Learning.com. If you have questions specific to your set-up, please don’t hesitate to contact us!

Reports

Our main recommendation for transitioning school years is to pull all the reports you need prior to making any class or roster changes for the upcoming year.

Coordinator end-of-year reporting recommendations

A full guide to Coordinator reports, including the ones highlighted below, can be found here.

  • Track Curriculum Usage Reports
    • Includes District Usage Summary and similar school-level reports
  • District Activity Report
  • Assessment-related Reports
  • All Tracked Scores Reports
  • Adaptive Keyboarding Raw Data Report
    • Note: Adaptive Keyboarding scores will automatically roll-over with a student from school year to school year
  • E-Rate Online Safety Objective Report (if applicable)

Teacher end-of-year reporting recommendations

A full guide to Teacher reports, including the ones highlighted below, can be found here.

  • Gradebook Report
  • Student Detail Report
  • Curriculum Item Report
  • Adaptive Keyboarding Raw Data Report and Individual Student Reports
    • Note: Adaptive Keyboarding scores will automatically roll-over with a student from school year to school year
  • E-Rate Online Safety Objectives Report (if applicable)

 

Roster and class changes

Districts that sync to their School Information System (SIS)

  • As data is updated directly from the district’s SIS via Clever, changes to the roster and synced classes must be made in the SIS and will be sent over to Learning.com
  • For help troubleshooting errors, or if you believe that data is missing, please email syncsupport@learning.com

Districts who manage users in Learning.com manually

Districts who manage users (and classes) manually will have many different implementation styles and transitioning school years will vary greatly depending on how administrative duties are assigned. Below are some of the key tools available to Coordinators.

  • Uploading student accounts using the User Import Tool (UIT)
    • If you are uploading a full up-to-date roster for your district, you can update, delete, and upload students with one step
    • If rosters are updated at the school level, rather than at the district level, Coordinators may want to delete outgoing students prior to adding new ones
      • If there are students in the system who are no longer with the district, it won’t negatively impact your functionality or license consumption, but many districts prefer to have administratively-accurate rosters
  • Uploading teacher accounts using the UIT
  • Uploading classes using the UIT
    • This is a great option for Coordinators looking to create/update classes in bulk, though smaller districts and schools may choose to edit classes manually
  • Bulk Updates
    • Separate from the UIT, Coordinators have the option to use the ‘Bulk Updates’ available to them in the left-hand Coordinator menu
      • Promote or demote students in bulk
        • Note: when using this option, always promote the highest grade first and always promote existing students before adding new ones; doing otherwise will result in an inaccurate roster by grade, requiring administrative clean-up
      • Remove students from classes in bulk
        • This is useful for teachers who want to reuse the curriculum they’ve already created in their classes, but who will have new students next year.
    • Transfer students to another school in bulk
      • This is useful if all students from one elementary school are being transferred to a middle school

Lesson scores from year to year

Lesson scores are designed to stick with the student, allowing for the option to transfer scores from one class to another. Learn more about transferring scores here.

If a teacher has the same student in the same Learning.com class from year to year, there is no way to remove or “erase” the student’s scores from the gradebook for any previously completed lesson within that same class. The student can re-do the lesson, even though the previous score is still visible, or the teacher can assign the lesson to the student individually or in a group.

For this reason, if a teacher prefers to always start with an empty gradebook, even when the class roster includes some of the same students year after year, we recommend creating a new Learning.com class.