Getting Started with Google Classroom
Educators must navigate to catalog.learning.com to share curriculum to Google Classroom. This is the only place where they will find a ‘Share to Classroom’ button. There is not an equivalent button on Learning.com.
Signing In to Google Classroom
Before you start, it’s a good idea to open your browser and make sure you are signed in to your Google account.
Go to https://www.google.com or https://classroom.google.com. If you see your avatar in the upper right corner (this will be just an initial of your name, if you have not changed it to a picture), then you’re already signed in. If not, select the ‘Sign in’ button, also in the upper right corner.
***Note that our curriculum cannot be shared to classes that belong to personal Gmail accounts. Please use your Google credentials set up by your school or district.
Creating and Managing Classes
Before you start sharing assignments, you may also want to set up classes within Google Classroom. If you are new to Google Classroom or need help creating classes and inviting students to your classes, we recommend this Google Help Center page.
Finding and Assigning Curriculum
All the Learning.com curriculum that can be assigned to Google Classroom can be found in the Learning.com Catalog. Educators may also want to plan their courses using our Google Classroom Pacing Calendars – be sure to select the appropriate grade-level from the tabs at the bottom of the spreadsheet.
***Note that if you are not logged into a Google Classroom account when you visit the Catalog, you won’t have access to all the features found there, such as the student preview and the teacher instructions (lesson plans). However, attempting to access these, or trying to share curriculum to your classroom, will prompt you to log in.
Once you have selected a Lesson that you want to assign to students, click on the ‘Share to Google Classroom’ button.
This button will open a new window for you to determine where to share the assignment. You will need to choose which class to share to and which language it should be in for your students. If you haven’t already signed in to Google Classroom you’ll be prompted to do so now.
***Note that most EasyTech Lessons are available in English and Spanish. However, students can change the subtitles option within each Lesson.
Completing these fields will make the ‘Assign’ button active: it will turn blue and can now be selected.
Selecting ‘Assign’ will make the assignment visible to students in your class immediately.
Selecting ‘Save as Draft’ from the drop-down menu will allow you to make changes to the assignment before it visible to students.
***Note that the first time you assign Learning.com curriculum you will be asked to allow Learning.com to access your account. This is so that Learning.com knows who is using which products and gives us the ability to send you the grade for automatically scored assignments.
Both options create a window saying “You have posted to your class” with a button to ‘View’ your class.
If you are signed in to a single Google Classroom account, then clicking on the ‘View’ button will take you to your class.
Managing Assigned Curriculum
If you selected the ‘Save as Draft’ option, then you will find the curriculum within your Google Classroom class in the ‘Saved posts’ section, which appears above any other assignments in your Stream.
Selecting the assignment within ‘Saved posts’ allows you to edit that assignment, such as changing the title and the description or assigning a due date and a topic. If you select ‘Assign’ you will make this assignment visible to students. If you use the drop-down menu, you can schedule a date and time when it will become visible to students or save it as a draft, which keeps it in the ‘Saved posts’ section where students cannot see it.
Once a post has been assigned, it is visible to students and appears in your Stream for the class.
When the assignment appears in your Stream there are three main areas of interest.
Selecting the three vertical dots in the upper right corner allows you to edit the assignment, such as changing the title and the description or assigning a due date and a topic.
***Note that from this view you cannot schedule the post to be assigned later as it is already visible to students.
Selecting the title of the assignment brings you to a page where you can see a list of students who have completed this assignment and their scores. From here you can also set an assignment to be ungraded, meaning that the assignment will show as ‘Done’ when students finish, without a point total.
Finally, selecting the rectangle with the assignment’s thumbnail launches the Lesson, allowing teachers to preview it.
Grading Student Work
Much of the curriculum found in the Learning.com Catalog is automatically graded; some items, however, may require a teacher to read and grade a student’s written work. Or, teachers may want to manually enter a grade and return it to the student.
***Note that all Google Classroom assignments that have been manually graded must be returned to the student by selecting the assignment, entering the grade, then selecting the box to the left of the student’s name and selecting ‘Return’ at the top of the screen.
More information about grading and returning work can be found in the Google Help Center.
What to Avoid
Within Google Classroom you will see options such as ‘Reuse Post’ or ‘Copy Link’ that may seem like a way to assign curriculum. While these can be useful for sharing links such as videos or external websites, they do not work for assignments that pass back grades – from Learning.com or anywhere else. Using these options will result in student scores showing up in the wrong class or not appearing at all.
Teachers may also notice an option to ‘Remove Learning.com.’ Selecting this will terminate the connection between Learning.com and your Google Classroom account.
Finally, while you can be logged in to multiple Google Accounts at the same time, doing so isn’t recommended. Choose only one Google account that you want to use at a time.
When a student logs in they need to select ‘Join’ to access the class that their teacher has set up for them.
***Note that much like teachers, the first time that students join a class with Learning.com assignments, they will be asked to allow Learning.com to access their account. This gives Learning.com the ability to send students their grades on automatically scored assignments and lets us know how many students are using the curriculum.
A student’s Stream within Google Classroom looks very similar to the teacher’s view, but students have fewer options and ways to edit the posts that they see.
Each Learning.com assignment in a student’s Stream has two main areas of interest. Clicking on the rectangle with the thumbnail launches the Lesson for the student to complete. Clicking on the ‘Open’ button or the assignment’s title takes the student to a page where they can attach work to the assignment, submit or resubmit the assignment for grading (even if they haven’t finished it completely), and see the score they received (if they’ve already finished or submitted the assignment).
***Note, Lessons will be graded automatically when a student finishes them, but they will not appear in a teacher’s ‘Done’ column until the student selects ‘Mark as Done.’