Learning.com works with Clever to sync districts’ SIS with the Learning.com platform. Clever is FERPA and COPPA compliant and student data is transported with end-to-end encryption. This makes transferring school, teacher, class, and student enrollment data to Learning.com faster, easier, and more secure.
What Clever data should be shared with Learning.com?
Each district configures their data sharing. Only share the schools in which are licensed with Learning.com. Clever Support can assist with configuring sharing rules to be sure that the correct data is shared with us.
Setting up Clever with Learning.com
- School district signs up with Clever and determines the method of sending data to Clever
- They request a connection to Learning.com through their Clever dashboard
* Note: District should only share data for schools licensed with Learning.com
- Sync Support group follows up to configure the connection and answer any questions
- Synchronization is activated and checked
Sync Support is available at email@example.com to resolve any missing or inaccurate information in the SIS or for general assistance.
After logging in to your District Coordinator account, click 'Users' > 'Data Warnings':
The ‘Data Warnings’ page provides information on why account data may not appearing in the Learning.com platform, such as a missing username.
Frequently Asked Questions
How are usernames created?
When first setting up the SIS integration, the district chooses if usernames are pulled from the SIS or generated by Learning.com. If Learning.com generates the usernames, it follows this convention:
- For Teachers: the first initial of the first name followed by the last name.
- For K-2 students: the first name followed by the first initial of the last name.
- For 3-12 students: the first initial of the first name followed by the last name.
- All usernames must be unique. If a username is already taken, numbers are used to extend the base convention for successive users.
How are passwords created?
When first setting up the SIS integration, the district chooses how passwords are generated by Learning.com. If Learning.com generates the passwords, the district will select one of three options:
- The username will be used as the password
- A fixed password will be used for all accounts
- Random alpha numeric passwords of specific length (4 character minimum) can be generated for Student and Teacher accounts
Note: SIS passwords are used when logging in with Clever
Do all the classes or sections in the SIS appear in Learning.com?
Yes, all sections sent from the SIS to Clever will appear as classes. To prevent classes from appearing in Learning.com, filter the list of sections in the SIS or on Clever. If for some reason it is not possible to make a change in the SIS, but the class should not be seen by students (ex. a class name that has “Special Needs” in the title), a teacher can hide a class from students by not assigning curriculum items to that class. The teacher can create an un-synced class and assign curriculum items. In the new class, enrollments will not be automatically updated because the data is not synced to the SIS. If there are changes to the enrollment, they would need to be handled manually.
How does SIS Integration appear on the Learning.com platform?
In the Student User Interface (UI), student names and class names will be exactly as written in the SIS.
In the teacher UI, classes and students will automatically appear, green sync arrows will indicate that data is being synchronized, and fields that are populated from the SIS will be locked so they cannot be edited.
In the Coordinator UI, green sync arrows will indicate that data is being synchronized, some fields will be locked, and there might be data in the ‘Data Warnings’ section(this section explains why accounts are not appearing in Learning.com).
What does it mean that fields are not editable?
Data coming from the SIS and fields relating to that data (i.e., class name or username) cannot be edited and are “locked.” This is to prevent data conflicts occurring between the SIS and the Learning.com platform. Fields that are not synchronized with the SIS are editable.
Can teachers still create student accounts in Learning.com outside of the SIS?
Yes, if the Coordinator checks the box that allows teachers to create student accounts on the “Permissions” page of the Coordinator UI. If a Coordinator unchecks the box, teachers are not able to create new students.
Can teachers still create classes in Learning.com outside of the SIS?
Yes. Teachers can manually create classes, but they will not be synced with the SIS data. Un-synced classes will not be updated by the SIS. Current educators can continue to use their existing classes as long as they like. These classes will not be synchronized automatically from the SIS, but they can be manually updated.
If we are already using Learning.com before the sync, what happens to all the curriculum and other items created by teachers when an account is synced?
Existing teacher and student accounts are matched and merged, keeping all data intact. The teacher accounts are matched using their email addresses, while student accounts are matched using their Student ID.
Do teachers need to delete accounts when starting a new year?
No, data will flow into Learning.com from your SIS. Users do not need to update any of the teacher or student data in Learning.com. It is pulled from the SIS and updated accordingly.
How do teachers remove all prior year classes?
The class data will be updated by the SIS automatically.
Does prior year data about the student stay with the account?
All data will be associated with students’ unique Student IDs for their entire career within a district.